Schmidt stars in MSA’s return to Beaver Dam Raceway

After a five-year absence, the Midwest Sprint Car Association made its highly anticipated return to Beaver Dam Raceway in Beaver Dam, Wis. on Saturday, Aug. 24, and when the final checkered flag flew, it was former series champion Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove standing tall as the A-main winner. The 22nd MSA event of the 2019 season drew a strong field of 31 entries to the track where the Winged 360 Sprint Car division originated on a weekly basis in 1996 before evolving into the MSA Winged 360 Sprint Car touring series in 2000. On the opening lap of the 25-lap main event, 2005 MSA champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett grabbed the lead from his outside front row starting position with Schmidt,

Danny Schlafer gets first win of 2019

In the 25-lap Sprint Car A main two-time PDTR champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex outdueled 2017 PDTR champ Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh on the final lap to earn his first A-main victory of the 2019 season and vault into a tie for the most career main event wins at Plymouth in the 360 Sprint Car division. Brandon McMullen got the jump on the drop of the green flag in the 360 Sprint Car A main to lead the opening lap from the pole position. On lap 6, outside front row starter Jim Melis of Glenbeulah moved in to challenge McMullen along the high line of the smooth and multi-groove racing surface.McMullen caught the rear of the field on lap 9 and was beginning to work his way through slower traffi

Kurt Davis gets A-Main win at PDTR

After lining up on the inside of the second row, Adam Miller of Plymouth powered past rookie polesitter Nick Daywalt of Slinger and outside front row starter Tim Haddy of Waupun to take the lead in turn four of the opening circuit. On lap 3, Kurt Davis, who started fourth worked the outside line of the tacky and two-groove racing surface to take over second, while 2017 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh moved in from the eighth starting spot to seize third with a low move in turn four on lap 7. The leaders caught the rear of the field on lap 9, which allowed Davis to close in on Miller before the first of three caution flags appeared on lap 10 for the slowing car of roo

Jim Melis of Glenbeulah earned his 17th career Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car A-main vict

The front row of the PDTR 360 Sprint Car A main featured one of the most experienced drivers in the pit area, 38-year veteran Jim Melis, on the pole and teenage rookie Jack Vanderboon of Dousman on the outside of the front row. The race got off to a rough start when Josh Teunissen of Waldo spun in turn two on the opening lap, which collected Bill Taylor of Boltonville, Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove and Chris Clayton of Waldo to bring out a red flag. Of the four cars that were involved in the incident, only Clayton was unable to continue in the race after turning his car over on its side. After a complete restart, Melis and Vanderboom dueled side by side throughout the opening lap before Melis

Fassbender returns to MSA victory lane at Outagamie

Former Midwest Sprint Car Association champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett snapped a two-year main event victory draught with an impressive triumph in the 25-lap Dave “Hagar” Nelson Memorial MSA A-main at Outagamie Speedway Powered by EWSC Racing in Seymour on Friday, Aug. 2. The 17th MSA racing event of the 2019 season drew a field of 29 cars to honor Dave “Hagar” Nelson, a dedicated supporter of the MSA, who passed away on July 5. After a spin by two-time MSA champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex on the opening lap prompted a complete restart, the race ran caution-free with highly competitive green-flag action throughout the third-mile clay oval the rest of the way. Kewaskum’s Shane Wenninger

©2018 by MSA Sprints. Proudly created with