top of page

Fassbender returns to MSA victory lane at Outagamie

Former Midwest Sprint Car Association champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett snapped a two-year main event victory draught with an impressive triumph in the 25-lap Dave “Hagar” Nelson Memorial MSA A-main at Outagamie Speedway Powered by EWSC Racing in Seymour on Friday, Aug. 2.

The 17th MSA racing event of the 2019 season drew a field of 29 cars to honor Dave “Hagar” Nelson, a dedicated supporter of the MSA, who passed away on July 5.

After a spin by two-time MSA champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex on the opening lap prompted a complete restart, the race ran caution-free with highly competitive green-flag action throughout the third-mile clay oval the rest of the way.

Kewaskum’s Shane Wenninger jumped out to the lead on the drop of the green flag from the pole position with outside front row starter Will Gerrits of Waupun falling into second along the inside groove of slick and tricky track surface.

On lap two, Fassbender, who started sixth, ventured up to the high line where he found a groove to his liking. One lap later, the 2005 MSA champion swept past 2014 MSA Masters Series champion Paul Pokorski of West Bend, who started fourth, to assume third in the running order.

As Wenninger was setting a strong pace at the front of the field, Fassbender continued his charge as he powered around Gerrits on lap 4 and set his sights on the lead. Two laps later, Fassbender seized the lead from Wenninger in turn one.

On lap 10, Fassbender encountered lapped traffic, which proved to be challenging at some points with cars running two-wide for position throughout the field. On lap 16, Fassbender was briefly boxed in behind two cars at the rear of the field, which allowed Gerrits to close the gap considerably.

Gerrits move to within striking distance of Fassbender on lap 19 and applied pressure for the remainder of the race. On lap 24, Gerrits ducked low to pull even with Fassbender briefly.

However, the 27-year veteran held on to secure his first MSA A-main victory since July 8, 2017 and the 20th main event triumph of his MSA career. Fassbender is the ninth different driver to win an MSA A-main event this season.

Gerrits finished a close second, seventh starter Travis Arenz of Sheboygan, who came into the event as the winner of four of the past five MSA A mains and co-leader in the MSA point standings, placed third, Adam Miller of Plymouth finished fourth after starting eighth and Pokorski rounded out the top five.

Danny Schlafer won the 12-lap MSA B main and 10-lap heat race victories went to Lance Fassbender, Justin Miler of Plymouth, Paul Pokorski and Adam Miller.

The next MSA touring race will take place Sunday, Aug. 11 with the series’ third and final visit to Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis. of the 2019 season. Hot laps will begin at 5:30 p.m. with racing to follow.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Outagamie Speedway Powered by EWSC Racing

Seymour, Wisconsin

August 2, 2019


1, Lance Fassbender, 2, Will Gerrits, 3, Tyler Nelson, 4, Brandon Berth, 5, Al Schlafer, 6, Tyler Brabant, 7, Josh Teunissen, 8, Sean Rayhall.


1, Justin Miller 2, Shane Wenninger 3, Tyler Davis 4, Bill Taylor 5, Doug Wondra 6, Doug Pietz 7, Blake Wondra.


1, Paul Pokorski 2, Travis Arenz, 3, Justin Erickson 4, Jack Vanderboom 5, Kurt Davis 6, Danny Schlafer 7, Scotty Thiel (DNS).


1, Adam Miller 2, Tony Wondra 3, Tim Haddy 4, Tyler Tischendorf 5, Scott Conger 6, Chris Larson 7, Preston Ruh.


1, Danny Schlafer 2, Tyler Brabant 3, Kurt Davis 4, Bill Taylor 5, Brandon Berth 6, Al Schlafer 7, Sean Rayhall 8, Josh Teunissen 9, Blake Wondra 10, Doug Pietz 11, Preston Ruh 12, Chris Larson 13, Scotty Thiel (DNS).


1, Lance Fassbender 2, Will Gerrits 3, Travis Arenz 4, Adam Miller 5, Paul Pokorski 6, Danny Schlafer 7, Justin Miller 8, Justin Erickson 9, Kurt Davis 10, Shane Wenninger 11, Tyler Brabant 12, Tyler Tischendorf 13, Bill Taylor 14, Tim Haddy 15, Tyler Davis 16, Jack Vanderboom 17, Tony Wondra 18, Scott Conger 19, Al Schlafer 20, Tyler Nelson 21, Brandon Berth 22, Doug Wondra.

bottom of page