top of page

Wondra nets wire-to-wire MSA triumph at Gravity Park

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) September 18, 2021 – As one of the most experienced drivers in the Midwest Sprint Car Association pit area, 29-year open-wheel racing veteran Tony Wondra of Campbellsport drove a smart, smooth and consistent race, while negotiating a tricky track surface en route to his first 25-lap Akright Auto Parts of Sheboygan Falls Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main victory of the 2021 season during the Chilton Fall Classic at Gravity Park Speedway in Chilton, Wis. on Saturday, Sept. 18.

The 25th MSA 360 Sprint Car Series racing event of the 2021 campaign drew a field of 18 cars in the series’ second appearance of the season at the Gravity Park Speedway bullring.

Outside front row starter Tony Wondra outpowered polesitter Adam Miller of Plymouth to take the lead on the opening lap of the 25-lap MSA main event, which was contested on a rubber-down track surface as one of the final events of the two-day eight-division Chilton Fall Classic.

Wondra held tight to the inside groove of the tight quarter-mile clay oval to secure the top spot over Miller in the early going as the field raced mainly in lock-step formation along the low lane.

On lap 7, Wondra caught the rear of the field, which allowed Miller to close to the gap. However, on the next lap, Miller spun his machine in turn four to bring out the first of three caution flags.

Shortly after the ensuing restart, a three-car incident in turn two saw Justin Erickson of Plymouth, Tyler Tischendorf of Waupaca and Bill Taylor of Boltonville spin in turn two. Tischendorf and Taylor were able to continue, but Erickson was done for the night.

The next restart was held in single-file formation as Wondra again bolted into the lead with fourth starter Will Gerrits of Waupun trailing closely in second. On lap 10, Adam Miller spun again in turn two to bring out the third and final caution flag of the race.

Wondra maintained the lead on the final restart and successfully fended off Gerrits over the final 15 laps on the way to his seventh career MSA 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and his first MSA A-main win since 2018 in his Ford-powered No. 11 360 Sprint Car.

Gerrits came home second, 2011 MSA champion Ben Schmidt of Plymouth placed third after starting third, fifth starter Tyler Brabant of Waupun finished fourth and 2005 MSA champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett placed fifth after starting sixth.

MSA heat race victories went to MSA point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls and Justin Erickson.

The MSA is set to close out the 2021 points season with a doubleheader weekend of action starting Friday, Sept. 24 with the Fuzzy Fassbender and Harry Neitzel Tribute Race at the Dodge County Fairgrounds in Beaver Dam, Wis. and concluding with the Wisconsin Sprint Car Championships at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, Sept. 25.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Gravity Park Speedway

Chilton, Wis.

September 18, 2021


1, Travis Arenz 2, Tyler Brabant 3, Alex Pokorski 4, Tony Wondra 5, Ben Schmidt 6, Adam Miller 7, Jack Vanderboom 8, Blake Wondra 9, Justin Miller.


1, Justin Erickson 2, Bill Taylor 3, Lance Fassbender 4, Tyler Tischendorf 5, Preston Ruh 6, Will Gerrits 7, Tim Haddy 8, Katelyn Krebsbach 9, Jeremy Hunt.


1, Tony Wondra 2, Will Gerrits 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Tyler Brabant 5, Lance Fassbender 6, Alex Pokorski 7, Travis Arenz 8, Preston Ruh 9, Tim Haddy 10, Katelyn Krebsbach 11, Blake Wondra 12, Tyler Tischendorf 13, Justin Miller 14, Bill Taylor 15, Jeremy Hunt 16, Jack Vanderboom 17, Adam Miller 18, Justin Erickson.



bottom of page