top of page

Vanderboom earns first career MSA-PDTR A-main victory, Arenz nails down MSA, PDTR titles

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) September 25, 2021 – Jack Vanderboom of Dousman racked up his first career 25-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasvantview Realty 360 Sprint Car A-main victory as the curtain closed on the 2021 Plymouth Dirt Track Racing season, during the Wisconsin Sprint Car Championships Saturday, Sept. 25 at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis.

Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls nailed down his first career Plymouth Dirt Track Racing and Midwest Sprint Car Association 360 Sprint Car titles with a ninth-place showing in the final points paying PDTR and MSA 360 Sprint Car A main of the 2021 season.

In the 25-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car A main, Will Gerrits of Waupun grabbed the lead on the opening lap from the pole with outside front row starter Jack Vanderboom following in second.

On lap 3, sixth starter Travis Arenz moved his way into third as the lead trio of Gerrits, Vanderboom and Arenz ran in lock-step formation at the front of the field for the next 12 laps before the first of four caution flags was displayed when Matt Rechek of Beaver Dam spun in turn two on lap 15.

On the restart, contact at the front of the field sent Gerrits spinning to a stop in turn two, while Arenz also spun, but continued on, which brought out the second caution period of the race. By rule, Arenz was sent to the rear of the field, along with Gerrits, on the next restart.

With Gerrits restarting at the rear, Vanderboom assumed the lead over third starter Adam Miller of Plymouth following the restart. The third caution of the race was displayed on lap 17 when 2011 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Ben Schmidt, 2018 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Justin Miller of Plymouth and Justin Erickson of Plymouth spun along the backstretch.

Tim Haddy of Waupun, who started eighth, bolted into second on lap 18 with two-time and defending PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh, who started 15th, following in third.

The fourth and final caution flag appeared on lap 18 when Cole Possi of Rock, Mich. slowed along the front stretch with a flat tire.

On the restart, McMullen ducked under Haddy to claim second, but he was unable to mount a serious challenge for the lead as Vanderboom pulled ahead to secure his first career PDTR and MSA 360 Sprint Car A-main victory.

“I’m at a loss for words right now,” Vanderboom said in victory lane. “The car felt amazing and the crew did a great job to make this happen.”

McMullen finished second, Adam Miller placed third, 2008 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett, who started 12th, finished fourth and Haddy rounded out the top five.

Arenz recovered from his spin on lap 15 to finish ninth and nail down his initial PDTR 360 Sprint Car championship by a 14-point margin over McMullen.

Kevin Karnitz of West Bend won the 15-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car B main.

The 18th and final PDTR program of the 2021 season, which was sponsored by Josfo Electric, drew 106 total cars, including 25 IRA 410 Sprint Cars, 31 PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Cars, 33 Wisconsin WingLESS Sprint Cars and 17 IRA Lightning Sprints.

The new book “70 Years of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan and George Baumann of Waupun, covering every season of racing at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. from 1950 to 2020 will be available for purchase at every race during the 2021 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and



1, Travis Arenz 2, Tony Wondra 3, Tim Haddy 4, Katelyn Krebsbach 5, Justin Erickson 6, Chris Clayton 7, Tyler Tischendorf 8, Jeremy Hunt.


1, Tyler Brabant 2, Jack Vanderboom 3, Justin Miller 4, Matt Rechek 5, Kevin Karnitz 6, Dylan Winkel 7, Preston Ruh 8, Anthony Knierim.


1, Josh Teunissen 2, Cole Possi 3, Lance Fassbender 4, Paul Pokorski 5, Tyler Davis 6, Nick Daywalt 7, Chris Larson 8, Blake Wondra.


1, Adam Miller 2, Will Gerrits 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Brandon McMullen 5, Kurt Davis 6, Scott Conger 7, Bill Taylor.


1, Kevin Karnitz 2, Kurt Davis 3, Paul Pokorski 4, Justin Erickson 5, Chris Clayton 6, Nick Daywalt 7, Bill Taylor 8, Preston Ruh 9, Chris Larson 10, Tyler Tischendorf 11, Blake Wondra 12, Scott Conger 13, Dylan Winkel 14, Jeremy Hunt 15, Anthony Knierim (DNS).


1, Jack Vanderboom 2, Brandon McMullen 3, Adam Miller 4, Lance Fassbender 5, Tim Haddy 6, Kurt Davis 7, Kevin Karnitz 8, Tyler Brabant 9, Travis Arenz 10, Will Gerrits 11, Justin Erickson 12, Josh Teunissen 13, Tyler Davis 14, Paul Pokorski 15, Chris Clayton 16, Cole Possi 17, Nick Daywalt 18, Ben Schmidt 19, Katelyn Krebsbach 20, Tony Wondra 21, Justin Miller 22, Matt Rechek.



bottom of page