top of page

Vanderboom closes 2021 MSA campaign with Beaver Dam Raceway triumph

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) October 2, 2021 – The 2021 Akright Auto Parts of Sheboygan Falls Midwest Sprint Car Association season fittingly ended very much like it began with a thrilling duel for the lead in heavy lapped traffic in the closing laps of the 25-lap A main at the birthplace of Winged 360 Sprint Car racing in southeastern Wisconsin – Beaver Dam Raceway in Beaver Dam. Wis. on Saturday, Oct. 2.

While the 2021 MSA season opener on April 17 saw 2011 series champion Ben Schmidt of Plymouth nip 2021 MSA and Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car champion Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls in dense lapped traffic to steal the victory on the final lap, the non-points season finale main event saw Jack Vanderboom of Dousman outduel Arenz in the closing laps to claim his second career 25-lap MSA triumph in the 2021 curtain closer.

Vanderboom, who started on the outside of the front row, outpowered polesitter Tim Haddy of Waupun to grab the lead on the opening lap of the 25-lap MSA headliner.

On lap 2, Arenz moved in from his fourth starting spot to seize second in the running order on the well-manicured, multi-grove Beaver Dam Raceway track surface. On lap 6, Vanderboom hit lapped traffic, which allowed Arenz to cut the gap along the high line of the third-mile clay oval.

On lap 7, Arenz dove low to briefly take the lead in turn two. However, Vanderboom fended off Arenz’s charge to retain the lead heading down the back stretch.

One lap later, a red flag appeared when Tim Haddy flipped in turn two. Five-time MSA champion Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee, who started seventh, used a strong restart to slip past Arenz for second on lap 8.

By lap 13, Vanderboom again caught the back of the field and went to work slicing his way through slower traffic. Arenz dialed up his efforts in thick lapped traffic over the final five laps as he regained second from Davis on lap 21 and rapidly closed in on the leader along the cushion.

Arenz advanced to within striking distance on lap 24 and remained close to Vanderboom throughout the final lap, but he was unable to draw near enough to set up a pass attempt as Vanderboom went on to claim his second career MSA A-main triumph and his second main event victory in the span of a week.

Arenz hung on to take second, Davis was third, second-year driver Alex Pokorski of West Bend, who started fifth, recorded a career-best fourth-place showing in the last-ever MSA event for his Pokorski Motorsports team and three-time Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car champion Donny Goeden of Kewaskum returned to the seat of an MSA Sprint Car for the first time in five years to record a fifth-place finish behind the wheel of the No. 44 car normally driven by Jason Johnson, after starting sixth.

The 27th full MSA 360 Sprint Car Series racing event of the 2021 campaign, which was held as the second half of the two-day Wingless Nationals event, featured 21 MSA 360 Sprint Cars for the series’ fifth and final appearance of the season at the third-mile Beaver Dam Raceway facility.

Travis Arenz turned in the fastest MSA qualifying lap with a time of 13.026 seconds.

MSA heat race victories went to Jack Vanderboom, Tim Haddy and Travis Arenz.

For updates on the 2022 Midwest Sprint Car Association season, visit or check out the Midwest Sprint Car Association Facebook page.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Beaver Dam Raceway

Beaver Dam, Wis.

October 2, 2021


1, Travis Arenz 13.026 2, Kevin Karnitz 13.077 3, Lance Fassbender 13.150 4, Donny Goeden 13.179 5, Tony Wondra 13.209 6, Alex Pokorski 13.273 7, Tim Haddy 13.283 8, Will Gerrits 13.299 9, Justin Miller 13.354 10, Jack Vanderboom 13.463 11, Kurt Davis 13.469 12, Katelyn Krebsbach 13.488 13, Clayton Rossmann 13.546 14, Bill Taylor 13.555 15, Dylan Winkel 13.621 16, Tyler Davis 13.641 17, Cole Possi 13.678 18, Jordan Paulsen 13.871 19, Josh Teunissen 14.073 20, Jeremy Hunt 14.180 21, Preston Ruh 14.193.


1, Jack Vanderboom 2, Jordan Paulsen 3, Kurt Davis 4, Katelyn Krebsbach 5, Preston Ruh 6, Josh Teunissen 7, Jeremy Hunt.


1, Tim Haddy 2, Alex Pokorski 3, Justin Miller 4, Tony Wondra 5, Lance Fassbender 6, Bill Taylor 7, Dylan Winkel.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Donny Goeden 3, Kevin Karnitz 4, Tyler Davis 5, Clayton Rossmann 6, Will Gerrits 7, Cole Possi.


1, Jack Vanderboom 2, Travis Arenz 3, Kurt Davis 4, Alex Pokorski 5, Donny Goeden 6, Kevin Karnitz 7, Jordan Paulsen 8, Tyler Davis 9, Will Gerrits 10, Justin Miller 11, Tony Wondra 12, Cole Possi 13, Bill Taylor 14, Katelyn Krebsbach 15, Dylan Winkel 16, Lance Fassbender 17, Josh Teunissen 18, Clayton Rossmann 19, Jeremy Hunt 20, Preston Ruh 21, Tim Haddy.



bottom of page