top of page

Schmidt storms to first MSA triumph of 2022 campaign at Plymouth Dirt Track

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) July 9, 2022 – Former Midwest Sprint Car Association and Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car champion Ben Schmidt of Plymouth held off former MSA champions Travis Arenz of Sheboygan and Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh to claim his first 25-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasant View Realty PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory of the 2022 season on Fan Appreciation Night at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, July 9.

Polesitter Justin Erickson of Plymouth led the opening lap of the 25-lap 360 Sprint Car A main before outside front row starter Shane Wenninger of Kewaskum used the outside groove to sweep into the lead in turn two on lap two.

Seconds later, the lone caution flag of the event appeared for a five-car incident in turn one involving Tyler Brabant of Waupun, Doug Wondra of Oakfield, Tommy Colburn of New Berlin, Tony Wondra of Campbellsport and Mike Yurmanovich of Cascade. The incident knocked Colburn and Yurmanovich out of the remainder of the race, while Doug Wondra, Tony Wondra and Brabant were able to continue.

On the restart, Ben Schmidt, who started fourth, worked the high line to move past Erickson into second and quickly close in on Wenninger for the lead. Three laps later, Schmidt moved within striking distance, while 2021 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion and current points leader Travis Arenz, who started sixth, moved into third.

On lap 9, Schmidt, who captured the 2011 MSA title, maneuvered his way past Wenninger in turn two to take the lead, while Arenz followed suit by moving around Wenninger into second on the following lap.

Over the final 16 laps, the leaders had their hands full as they sliced their way through heavy lapped traffic. As the laps wound down, Arenz worked primarily the low line to reel in the high-riding Schmidt, while two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion and four-time MSA champ Brandon McMullen, who started seventh, moved into third to join in a spirited three-car duel at the front of the field.

With Arenz and McMullen hot on his heels, Schmidt stayed smooth and consistent to successfully negotiate a dense gaggle of slower traffic in the closing laps en route to his 14th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and 31st career Midwest Sprint Car Association main event triumph.

Arenz had to settle for second, McMullen finished third, Wenninger placed fourth and Erickson wound up fifth.

Bill Taylor of Boltonville won the 12-lap 360 Sprint Car B main.

The seventh full PDTR program of the 2022 campaign, which was sponsored by Butch and Blondie Hafemann, drew a total field of 68 cars, including 26 PDTR 360 Sprint Cars.

The next PDTR racing program on Saturday, July 16 will include the first of two scheduled appearances of the 2022 season at The Plymouth Dirt Track for the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association, in addition to the PDTR 360 Sprint Cars, Late Models, Grand Nationals and B Mods.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with 360 Sprint Car hot laps/group qualifying at 5:30 p.m. and racing to begin at 6 p.m. for the PDTR program sponsored by Pit Stop Pizza on July 16.

The new book “Racing Recollections – Plymouth Racetrack Fans & Drivers 1950-2021” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan, George Baumann of Waupun and Verla Peichl of Sheboygan Falls will be available for purchase at every race during the 2022 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and

The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds is located at 229 Fairview Drive in Plymouth, Wis. For more information, visit or check out Plymouth Dirt Track Racing on Facebook.



1, Blake Wondra 2, Chris Larson 3, Justin Erickson 4, Preston Ruh 5, Mike Yurmanovich 6, Will Gerrits 7, Dylan Winkel 8, J.J. Pagel 9, Lance Fassbender.


1, Scott Conger 2, Shane Wenninger 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Justin Miller 5, Tommy Colburn 6, Bill Taylor 7, Tony Wondra 8, Chris Clayton 9, Randy Post.


1, Brandon McMullen 2, Travis Arenz 3, Katelyn Krebsbach 4, Tyler Brabant 5, Alex Pokorski 6, Tim Haddy 7, Doug Wondra 8, Kevin Seidler.


1, Bill Taylor 2, Tommy Colburn 3, Doug Wondra 4, Tony Wondra 5, Dylan Winkel 6, Lance Fassbender 7, Chris Clayton 8, J.J. Pagel 9, Randy Post 10, Kevin Seidler.


1, Ben Schmidt 2, Travis Arenz 3, Brandon McMullen 4, Shane Wenninger 5, Justin Erickson 6, Chris Larson 7, Justin Miller 8, Will Gerrits 9, Scott Conger 10, Blake Wondra 11, Lance Fassbender 12, Tyler Brabant 13, Tim Haddy 14, Alex Pokorski 15, Bill Taylor 16, Preston Ruh 17, Dylan Winkel 18, Tony Wondra 19, Katelyn Krebsbach 20, Doug Wondra 21, Mike Yurmanovich 22, Tommy Colburn.



bottom of page