top of page

Schmidt rolls to fourth MSA A-main win of 2021 season with Plymouth triumph

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) July 31, 2021 – 2011 Midwest Sprint Car Association and Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car champion Ben Schmidt of Plymouth used a late charge to notch is fourth MSA A-main triumph of the 2021 season in the 25-lap 360 Sprint Car main event at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, July 31.

The initial start of the PDTR 360 Sprint Car A main was called back when point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls stopped in turn two. After a complete restart, second-year driver Alex Pokorski of West Bend, who started on the pole, outpowered two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion and five-time MSA champion Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee, who started second, to lead the opening lap.

As Pokorski ran smooth laps along the low groove in the early stages of the race, Davis cut the gap to move within striking distance on lap 12. On lap 14, Pokorski caught the back of the field and encountered slower cars dueling side by side for position.

Meanwhile, seventh starter Ben Schmidt had moved his way into second and was quickly closing in on Pokorski for the lead. On lap 18, Schmidt used the outside groove to power around Pokorski and into the lead in turn two.

Two laps later, Davis ducked underneath Pokorski to secure second as Schmidt built up a full-straightaway cushion at the front of the field. Schmidt skillfully worked his way through lapped traffic over the final five laps to post his 13th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory, 30th career Midwest Sprint Car Association main event triumph and fourth overall Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main win of the 2021 season.

Davis placed second, fourth starter Bill Taylor of Boltonville finished third, Justin Erickson of Plymouth, who started fifth, took fourth and Pokorski secured a career-best fifth-place showing.

2005 MSA champ and 2008 PDTR 360 Sprint Car title winner Lance Fassbender of Burnett captured the 15-lap 360 Sprint Car B main.

The 14th PDTR program of the 2021 season included 28 PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Cars.

PDTR action featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Late Models, Grand Nationals and B Mods is scheduled to resume on Saturday, Aug. 7 with Autograph Night as the first 200 kids will receive free checkered flags and backpacks courtesy of Hopf Farms.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with hot laps at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 6 p.m.

The new book “70 Years of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan and George Baumann of Waupun, covering every season of racing at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. from 1950 to 2020 will be available for purchase at every race during the 2021 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and



1, Tim Haddy 2, Tyler Davis 3, Bill Taylor 4, Doug Wondra 5, Tyler Tischendorf 6, Kevin Karnitz 7, Matt Rechek.


1, Kurt Davis 2, Ben Schmidt 3, Tony Wondra 4, Brandon McMullen 5, Lance Fassbender 6, Tyler Brabant 7, Jack Vanderboom.


1, Alex Pokorski 2, Brandon Berth 3, Chris Clayton 4, Adam Miller 5, Austin Hartmann 6, Dylan Winkel 7, Travis Arenz.


1, Justin Erickson 2, Will Gerrits 3, Justin Miller 4, Josh Teunissen 5, Katelyn Krebsbach 6, Blake Wondra 7, Tristan Koenings.


1, Lance Fassbender 2, Adam Miller 3, Josh Teunissen 4, Kevin Karnitz 5, Travis Arenz 6, Tyler Brabant 7, Austin Hartmann 8, Blake Wondra 9, Jack Vanderboom 10, Dylan Winkel 11, Tristan Koenings 12, Matt Rechek.


1, Ben Schmidt 2, Kurt Davis 3, Bill Taylor 4, Justin Erickson 5, Alex Pokorski 6, Brandon McMullen 7, Chris Clayton 8, Justin Miller 9, Brandon Berth 10, Lance Fassbender 11, Will Gerrits 12, Tyler Davis 13, Doug Wondra 14, Tyler Tischendorf 15, Kevin Karnitz 16, Travis Arenz 17, Tim Haddy 18, Adam Miller 19, Tony Wondra 20, Josh Teunissen 21, Tyler Brabant 22, Katelyn Krebsbach.



bottom of page