top of page

McMullen racks up fourth PDTR 360 Sprint Car win of 2021 campaign

Two-time Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car champion and current point leader Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh used a late-race charge in dense lapped traffic to notch his fourth A-main victory of the 2021 campaign in the 25-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasantview Realty 360 Sprint Car main event at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, Aug. 14.

Polesitter Kevin Karnitz of West Bend jumped into the lead on the drop of the green flag with outside front row starter Tyler Tischendorf of Waupaca taking second. On lap 3, Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls, who started fifth, seized second.

Two laps later, Arenz slipped past Karnitz to take over the top spot in turn four. Meanwhile, Brandon McMullen, who started 10th, charged his way into third on lap nine just before the lone caution of the race appeared later on lap nine when Adam Miller of Plymouth spun in turn four.

On the restart, Karnitz used a big move to slide in front of Arenz and regain the lead in turn two with Tischendorf and McMullen in tow as Arenz fell back in the field along the cushion. On lap 14, McMullen worked the high groove to move past Tischendorf and gain second in the running order.

As the laps wound down, Karnitz caught the rear of the field on lap 21 with McMullen trailing close behind. On lap 24, Karnitz bobbled along the cushion in heavy lapped traffic, which allowed McMullen to take over the lead in turn four.

Arenz rebounded in the closing laps to assume second, while McMullen held on to secure his 24th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and 34th career Midwest Sprint Car Association main event win.

The victory pushed McMullen past two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex into second place on the all-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory list and moved him just one win behind two-time PDTR 360 Sprint champ Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee, who currently sits atop the main event victory list with 25.

Arenz rallied to finish second, Tischendorf placed a career-best third, 13th starter Tim Haddy of Waupun charged up through the field to finish fourth and Karnitz rounded out the top five.

Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee won the 15-lap PDTR 360 Sprint B main.

The 15th PDTR program of the 2021 season, which was sponsored by JDL Automotive, drew 32 360 Sprint Cars.

PDTR action featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Late Models, Grand Nationals and B Mods is scheduled to resume on Saturday, Aug. 21 with Autograph Night as the first 200 kids will receive free checkered flags and backpacks courtesy of Hopf Farms and Kids Night featuring a candy drop and glow stick giveaways.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with hot laps at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 6 p.m.

The new book “70 Years of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan and George Baumann of Waupun, covering every season of racing at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. from 1950 to 2020 will be available for purchase at every race during the 2021 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and



1, Bill Taylor 2, Dylan Winkel 3, Tim Haddy 4, Chris Clayton 5, Kurt Davis 6, Lance Fassbender 7, Matt Rechek 8, Katelyn Krebsbach.


1, Jeremy Schultz 2, Brandon McMullen 3, Josh Teunissen 4, Brandon Berth 5, Chris Larson 6, Will Gerrits 7, Cole Possi 8, Austin Hartmann.


1, Doug Wondra 2, Tyler Tischendorf 3, Justin Miller 4, Justin Erickson 5, Tyler Brabant 6, Adam Miller 7, Tyler Davis 8, Tommy Colburn (DNS).


1, Alex Pokorski 2, Travis Arenz 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Kevin Karnitz 5, Preston Ruh 6, Scott Conger 7, Anthony Knierim 8, Blake Wondra.


1, Kurt Davis 2, Brandon Berth 3, Will Gerrits 4, Adam Miller 5, Lance Fassbender 6, Anthony Knierim 7, Chris Larson 8, Tyler Davis 9, Blake Wondra 10, Scott Conger 11, Matt Rechek 12, Preston Ruh 13, Cole Possi 14, Katelyn Krebsbach 15, Austin Hartmann 16, Tommy Colburn.


1, Brandon McMullen 2, Travis Arenz 3, Tyler Tischendorf 4, Tim Haddy 5, Kevin Karnitz 6, Bill Taylor 7, Chris Clayton 8, Jeremy Schultz 9, Ben Schmidt 10, Justin Erickson 11, Doug Wondra 13, Lance Fassbender 14, Will Gerrits 15, Dylan Winkel 16, Kurt Davis 17, Brandon Berth 18, Adam Miller 19, Alex Pokorski 20, Anthony Knierim 21, Josh Teunissen 22, Tyler Brabant.



bottom of page