top of page

McMullen outduels Davis to capture PDTR Dave Deicher Tribute Night 360 Sprint Car hardware

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) July 24, 2021 – On a night honoring one of the most beloved former racers and flagmen in the 71-year history of The Plymouth Dirt Track, Plymouth Dirt Track Racing put on a show in every sense of the word highlighted by a thrilling finish to the PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main, which saw two-time and defending champion Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh nip two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car title winner Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee for his third main event victory of the 2021 season on Dave Deicher Tribute Night at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, July 24.

Kurt Davis grabbed the lead on the drop of the green flag on the opening lap of the special 26-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasantview Realty A main run in honor the No. 26 that Deicher carried for many years on his Winged Super Modified.

On lap 5, outside front row starter Tyler Brabant of Waupun worked the outside groove of the wide, smooth and slick race surface to pressure Davis for the top spot. After Davis used the low line to pull away from Brabant, fourth starter Kevin Karnitz of West Bend charged in to take over second in the running order on lap 11.

Four laps later, the lone caution flag of the race appeared on lap 15 when Brabant spun in turn two. Following the restart, Davis maintained the top spot with Karnitz in tow, while the seventh starting Brandon McMullen moved into third along the middle groove.

On lap 21, McMullen worked around Karnitz to take second and quickly closed the gap on Davis. With one lap to go, McMullen ducked under Davis along the inside groove exiting turn four on lap 25.

Davis battled back on the final lap to pull even with McMullen in turn one. The former champions dueled side by side to the finish with McMullen nipping Davis by a narrow margin to collect his 23rd career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and 33rd overall Midwest Sprint Car Association main event win.

McMullen’s victory moved him into a tie for second place on the all-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory list with two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex.

Davis had to settle for second, Karnitz finished third, point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls moved up from his 12th starting spot to finish fourth and third starter Tim Haddy of Waupun rounded out the top five.

Adam Miller of Plymouth captured the 15-lap 360 Sprint Car B main.

As a special tribute to Dave Deicher, who served as a flagman at The Plymouth Dirt Track from 1989 through 2020 and passed away in May 2021, several former flagmen at The Plymouth Dirt Track were on hand during a special pre-race ceremony to honor Deicher and to share in trading off flagging duties for heat race action.

Among the former and current Plymouth flagmen on hand in Deicher’s memory were Bill Krueger, Larry Palm, Roger Mueller, Eric Mueller, Bill Lubach and Steve Crass.

After the racing program, PDTR and the Deicher family sponsored a post-race party featuring free pizza and beer for those in attendance.

The 13h PDTR program of the 2021 season, which was sponsored by Butch and Blondie Hafemann, drew 86 total cars, including 25 360 Sprint Cars, 23 B Mods, 14 Late Models, 12 Grand Nationals and 12 Vintage Modifieds.

PDTR action is scheduled to resume on Saturday, July 31 with a special all-Sprint Car event featuring the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association 410 Sprint Car Series, the PDTR 360 Sprint Cars and the IRA Lightning Sprints.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with hot laps at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 6 p.m.

The new book “70 Years of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan and George Baumann of Waupun, covering every season of racing at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. from 1950 to 2020 will be available for purchase at every race during the 2021 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and



1, Kevin Karnitz 2, Chris Clayton 3, Lance Fassbender 4, Will Gerrits 5, Travis Arenz 6, Justin Miller 7, Austin Hartmann 8, Bill Taylor.


1, Tim Haddy 2, Kurt Davis 3, Josh Teunissen 4, Alex Pokorski 5, Cole Possi 6, Preston Ruh 7, Katelyn Krebsbach 8, Ben Schmidt.


1, Tyler Brabant 2, Justin Erickson 3, Jack Vanderboom 4, Brandon McMullen 5, Steve Meyer 6, Doug Wondra 7, Tyler Tischendorf 8, Chris Larson.



1, Adam Miller 2, Tyler Tischendorf 3, Doug Wondra 4, Justin Miller 5, Katelyn Krebsbach 6, Bill Taylor 7, Ben Schmidt 8, Austin Hartmann 9, Chris Larson.


1, Brandon McMullen 2, Kurt Davis 3, Kevin Karnitz 4, Travis Arenz 5, Tim Haddy 6, Justin Erickson 7, Jack Vanderboom 8, Chris Clayton 9, Alex Pokorski 10, Ben Schmidt 11, Will Gerrits 12, Lance Fassbender 13, Justin Miller 14, Preston Ruh 15, Steve Meyer 16, Cole Possi 17, Adam Miller 18, Bill Taylor 19, Tyler Tischendorf 20, Tyler Brabant 21, Josh Teunissen 22, Katelyn Krebsbach, Doug Wondra (DNS).



bottom of page