top of page

McMullen gets 4th MSA victory

In the Sprint Car A main, polesitter Tyler Davis of South Milwaukee jumped out to the lead on lap 1 before a red flag was displayed on lap 2 when outside front row starter Tyler Tischendorf of Waupaca spun in turn two and collected rookie Austin Hartmann of Plymouth, who flipped his machine. The incident forced Hartmann to retire from the event, while Tischendorf was able to continue.

On the ensuing restart attempt, Tim Haddy of Waupun spun in turn two and collected Bill Taylor of Kewaskum and Tischendorf. Both Haddy and Taylor were unable to continue in the race.

When the race resumed, 2018 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Justin Miller of Plymouth worked past Davis to assume the lead in turn two on lap 3. Meanwhile, third starter Brandon McMullen moved past Davis into second on lap 6 and quickly set his sets on the leader.

Three laps later, McMullen rode the high groove to perfection on the lightning fast and tacky track surface to sweep around Miller into the lead. One lap later on lap 10, the third caution flag was displayed when Tyler Davis spun in turn two at the same time as rookie Alex Pokorski of West Bend spun to a stop in turn four.

On the ensuing restart, Miller and current PDTR 360 Sprint Car point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan, who started sixth, collided before Miller stopped in turn one with suspension damage to bring out the fourth caution flag.

The damage was enough to force Miller out of the race while Arenz was sent to the rear of the field for his involvement in the yellow flag incident. Seventh starter Kevin Karnitz of West Bend made his presence felt on the restart has he moved into second while 19th starter Nich Melis of Plymouth worked his way into third on lap 12.

McMullen began to catch the rear of the field on lap 17, which he sliced through expertly to extend his lead over Karnitz. On lap 20, Tyler Davis spun on the frontstretch before Alex Pokorski made hard contact with Davis to bring out a red flag for the fifth and final stoppage of the race. Both drivers emerged from the heavy impact uninjured, but were done for the night.

McMullen again pulled away on the final restart and cruised over the final five laps to his 19th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and 27th Midwest Sprint Car Association main event triumph of his career by a full-straightaway margin. Karnitz finished second, 2011 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove finished third after starting 12th, Melis placed fourth and Arenz rebounded from restarting 17th following a lap 10 collision with Justin Miller to place fifth.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Justin Miller 3, Nick Daywalt 4, Doug Wondra 5, Alex Pokorski 6, Brandon Berth 7, Scott Armstrong 8, Shane Wenninger.


1, Tyler Davis 2, Scott Conger 3, Tyler Tischendorf 4, Bill Taylor 5, Preston Ruh 6, Kevin Seidler 7, Tyler Brabant 8, Lance Fassbender.


1, Kevin Karnitz 2, Austin Hartmann 3, Tony Wondra 4, Will Gerrits 5, Josh Teunissen 6, Justin Erickson 7, Chris Clayton.


1, Brandon McMullen 2, Kurt Davis 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Tim Haddy 5, Anthony Knierim 6, Nich Melis 7, Blake Wondra.


1, Alex Pokorski 2, Brandon Berth 3, Nich Melis 4, Anthony Knierim 5, Bill Taylor 6, Josh Teunissen 7, Justin Erickson 8, Blake Wondra 9, Tyler Brabant 10, Kevin Seidler 11, Lance Fassbender 12, Chris Clayton 13, Scott Armstrong 14, Shane Wenninger (DNS).


1, Brandon McMullen 2, Kevin Karnitz 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Nich Melis 5, Travis Arenz 6, Kurt Davis 7, Brandon Berth 8, Nick Daywalt 9, Will Gerrits 10, Anthony Knierim 11, Scott Conger 12, Preston Ruh 13, Tony Wondra 14, Doug Wondra 15, Josh Teunissen 16, Tyler Davis, 17, Alex Pokorski 18, Justin Miller 19, Tyler Tischendorf 20, Austin Hartmann 21, Tim Haddy 22, Bill Taylor.



bottom of page