top of page

Late pass vaults Arenz to sixth 2022 PDTR-MSA A-main triumph

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) July 30, 2022 - Defending Plymouth Dirt Track Racing and Midwest Sprint Car Association 360 Sprint Car champion and current points leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan executed a late-race pass to secure his sixth 25-lap PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Car A-main triumph of the 2022 campaign, during the Badger State Open Wheel special event Saturday, July 30 at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis.

Polesitter Lance Fassbender of Burnett took the lead on the opening lap of the PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Car A main as outside front row starter Bill Taylor of Boltonville slipped into second.

Fassbender, who captured the 2008 PDTR 360 Sprint Car championship and 2005 MSA title, held tight to the low groove with Taylor following closely in his tire tracks through the opening laps of the race. On lap 8, Travis Arenz, who started eighth, worked his way into fourth before using a high move to seize third on lap 10.

As the leader encountered lapped traffic, Arenz capitalized by bolting past Taylor into second in turn one on lap 18. Meanwhile, Fassbender was finding the going challenging at the front of the field as he tried in vain to work around a lapped car, which allowed the stalking Arenz to pounce.

When Fassbender drifted high, Arenz dove low to seize the top spot entering turn one on lap 20. Arenz then pulled away to notch his sixth PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory of the 2022 season in nine attempts, 16th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car main event win and 28th career Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main triumph in the caution-free race.

Fassbender finished second, Taylor was third, Robbie Pribnow of Lomira, who started fourth, steered the No. 47 car normally driven by Blake Wondra to fourth and ninth starter Tim Haddy of Waupun placed fifth.

In his first start of the 2022 season, Jason Johnson of Campbellsport was the fastest PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Car overall qualifier with a lap of 12.366 seconds.

Tony Wondra of Campbellsport won the 12-lap 360 Sprint Car B main.

The ninth full PDTR program of the 2022 campaign, which was sponsored by Jensen Sales and Service, drew 27 PDTR-MSA 360 Sprint Cars.

The next PDTR racing program on Saturday, Aug. 6 will feature the inaugural Plymouth Racing Wall of Fame Class of 2022 induction with 10 drivers, four track workers and three racing families honored for their contributions to the racing program at Plymouth since its inception in 1950.

In addition, the Aug. 6 PDTR program is Kids Autograph Night with backpack and checkered flag giveaways courtesy of Hopf Farms.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with 360 Sprint Car hot laps/group qualifying at 5:30 p.m. and racing to begin at 6 p.m.

The new book “Racing Recollections – Plymouth Racetrack Fans & Drivers 1950-2021” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan, George Baumann of Waupun and Verla Peichl of Sheboygan Falls will be available for purchase at every race during the 2022 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and

The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds is located at 229 Fairview Drive in Plymouth, Wis. For more information, visit or check out Plymouth Dirt Track Racing on Facebook.



1, Jason Johnson 12.366 2, Lance Fassbender 12.453 3, Anthony Knierim 12.473 4, Nick Daywalt 12.496 5, Travis Arenz 12.503 6, Donny Goeden 12.547 7, Tyler Brabant 12.568 8, Dylan Winkel 12.651 9, Shane Wenninger 12.668 10, Bill Taylor 12.686 11, Robbie Pribnow 12.722 12, Kurt Davis 12.759 13, Mike Yurmanovich 12.759 14, Tony Wondra 12.788 15, Will Gerrits 12.788 16, Brandon Berth 12.814 17, Justin Miller 12.862 18, Katelyn Krebsbach 12.865 19, Alex Pokorski 12.880 20, Justin Erickson 12.895 21, J.J. Pagel 13.065 22, Chris Clayton 13.086 23, Tyler Davis 13.094 24, Kevin Seidler 13.387 25, Doug Wondra 3.537 26, Randy Post 14.867 27, Tim Haddy no time.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Nick Daywalt 3, Lance Fassbender 4, Jason Johnson 5, Ben Schmidt 6, Justin Miller 7, Dylan Winkel 8, Tyler Davis 9, Katelyn Krebsbach.


1, Kurt Davis 2, Robbie Pribnow 3, Bill Taylor 4, Tim Haddy 5, Alex Pokorski 6, Tony Wondra 7, J.J. Pagel 8, Kevin Seidler 9, Tyler Brabant.


1, Will Gerrits 2, Brandon Berth 3, Anthony Knierim 4, Mike Yurmanovich 5, Justin Erickson 6, Shane Wenninger 7, Chris Clayton 8, Doug Wondra 9, Randy Post (DNS).


1, Tony Wondra 2, Shane Wenninger 3, Tyler Davis 4, Katelyn Krebsbach 5, Tyler Brabant 6, Doug Wondra 7, Chris Clayton 8, Dylan Winkel 9, Kevin Seidler 10, J.J. Pagel 11, Randy Post (DNS).


1, Travis Arenz 2, Lance Fassbender 3, Bill Taylor 4, Robbie Pribnow 5, Tim Haddy 6, Anthony Knierim 7, Donny Goeden 8, Nick Daywalt 9, Will Gerrits 10, Kurt Davis 11, Brandon Berth 12, Justin Erickson 13, Alex Pokorski 14, Shane Wenninger 15, Jason Johnson 16, Justin Miller 17, Tyler Davis 18, Tyler Brabant 19, Tony Wondra 20, Mike Yurmanovich 21, Katelyn Krebsbach 22, Doug Wondra.



bottom of page