top of page

Erickson racks up first career MSA A-main triumph at Plymouth Dirt Track

(Pedal Down Promotions) May 21, 2022 - Justin Erickson of Plymouth rolled to his first career Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main victory in the 25-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasant View Realty Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car A main at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, May 21.

The opening lap of the 25-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car A main saw 2018 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Justin Miller of Plymouth and Justin Erickson, who started fourth, dueled side by side over the first two laps before Erickson surged into the lead in turn two on lap 3.

By lap 6, Erickson proceeded to bolt out to a full-straightaway advantage over Miller before encountering lapped traffic for the first time on lap 10.

Two laps later, the first of two caution flags appeared when Chris Larson of Franksville spun in turn two. On the restart, Tim Haddy of Waupun, who started on the pole, used the high groove to turn to surge past Miller into second place,

Miller battled back on lap 15 as Haddy and Miller swapped the runner-up spot back-and-forth over the next five laps before Haddy regained the position on lap 20. One lap later, Larson spun again in turn four to bring out the second and final caution flag of the race.

Erickson controlled the ensuring single-file restart and held on over the final four laps to collect his first career PDTR 360 Sprint A-main victory.

Haddy finished second, Miller wound up third, defending PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls, who started 18th, charged up through the field to place fourth and 2011 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Ben Schmidt of Plymouth, who started fifth, rounded out the top five.

2008 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett earned overall fast qualifier honors in the PDTR 360 Sprint Car division with a lap of 12.696 seconds.

The third PDTR program of the 2022 campaign, which was sponsored by JDL Automotive, drew a strong field 31 PDTR 360 Sprint Cars.

This week’s Military Night Plymouth Dirt Track Racing program on Saturday, May 28 will feature free admission for all U.S. Military members with valid identification in honor of Memorial Day weekend.

In addition, Kindred Hearts families will be hand out American flags to kids courtesy of B93 Sheboygan's Country. Kindred Hearts is a non-profit that helps out family members that are taking care of children of other family members who are unable to. For example, grandparents who are raising their own grandchildren.

The trophy sponsor for the racing program on Saturday, May 28 is Pedal Down Promotions.

Spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with 360 Sprint Car hot laps/group qualifying at 5:30 p.m. and racing to begin at 6 p.m.

The new book “Racing Recollections – Plymouth Racetrack Fans & Drivers 1950-2021” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan, George Baumann of Waupun and Verla Peichl of Sheboygan Falls will be available for purchase at every race during the 2022 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and

The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds is located at 229 Fairview Drive in Plymouth, Wis. For more information, visit or check out Plymouth Dirt Track Racing on Facebook.



1, Lance Fassbender 12.696 2, Anthony Knierim 12.796 3, Brandon McMullen 12.859 4, Bill Taylor 12.860 5, Justin Miller 12.899 6, Andy Rein 12.928 7, Blake Wondra 12.943 8, Tyler Davis 12.983 9, Preston Ruh 13.013 10, Jack Vanderboom 13.059 11, Chris Clayton 13.132 12, Doug Wondra 13.205 13, Justin Erickson 13.210 14, Nick Daywalt 13.336 15, Katelyn Krebsbach 13.503 16, Mike Yurmanovich 13.532 17, Alex Pokorski 13.545 18, Ben Schmidt 13.554 19, Brandon Berth 13.773 20, Kurt Davis 13.776 21, Chris Larson 13.802 22, Tim Haddy 13.839 23, Tyler Brabant 14.119 24, Jordan Paulsen 14.143 25, Dylan Winkel 14.147 26, Spyder Akright 14.161 27, Tommy Colburn 14.349 28, Cole Possi 14.450 29, Travis Arenz 14.511 30, Randy Post 15.986 31, J.J. Pagel 16.682.


1, Brandon Berth 2, Ben Schmidt 3, Kurt Davis 4, Tim Haddy 5, Tyler Brabant 6, Mike Yurmanovich 7, Dylan Winkel 8, Cole Possi.


1, Nick Daywalt 2, Justin Erickson 3, Doug Wondra 4, Chris Larson 5, Spyder Akright 6, Tommy Colburn 7, Randy Post 8, Travis Arenz.


1, Jack Vanderboom 2, Andy Rein 3, Preston Ruh 4, Anthony Knierim 5, Alex Pokorski 6, Katelyn Krebsbach 7, Jordan Paulsen 8, J.J. Pagel.


1, Brandon McMullen 2, Justin Miller 3, Bill Taylor 4, Lance Fassbender 5, Chris Clayton 6, Tyler Davis 7, Blake Wondra.


1, Kurt Davis 2, Travis Arenz 3, Tyler Brabant 4, Chris Larson 5, Jordan Paulsen 6, Dylan Winkel 7, Mike Yurmanovich 8, Katelyn Krebsbach 9, J.J. Pagel 10, Randy Post 11, Spyder Akright 12, Blake Wondra 13, Cole Possi 14, Tyler Davis 15, Tommy Colburn.


1, Justin Erickson 2, Tim Haddy 3, Justin Miller 4, Travis Arenz 5, Ben Schmidt 6, Doug Wondra 7, Chris Clayton 8, Lance Fassbender 9, Brandon McMullen 10, Tyler Brabant 11, Jack Vanderboom 12, Brandon Berth 13, Nick Daywalt 14, Kurt Davis 15, Andy Rein 16, Dylan Winkel 17, Alex Pokorski 18, Anthony Knierim 19, Bill Taylor 20, Jordan Paulsen 21, Chris Larson 22, Preston Ruh.



bottom of page