top of page

Arenz storms to 11th MSA triumph of 2021 campaign

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) October 1, 2021 – After wrapping up his first career Midwest Sprint Car Association and Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car season points titles last week, Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls continued his dream season by capturing his 11th A-main victory of the 2021 season in a non-points 25-lap Akright Auto Parts of Sheboygan Falls MSA main event Friday, Oct. 1 at Beaver Dam Raceway in Beaver Dam, Wis.

The 26th MSA 360 Sprint Car Series racing event of the 2021 campaign, which was held as the first half of the two-day Wingless Nationals event, drew a solid field of 28 MSA 360 Sprint Cars for the series’ fourth appearance of the season at the third-mile Beaver Dam Raceway facility.

Outside front row starter Kevin Karnitz of West Bend powered past polesitter Tyler Davis of Franklin to grab the lead on the opening lap of the MSA headliner.

On lap 2, fourth starter Travis Arenz worked the outside groove of the lightning fast and tacky track surface to assume the top spot exiting turn two. Arenz wasted no time in building up a half-straightaway lead over Karnitz by lap 5.

One lap later, Arenz caught the back of the field and began the process of slicing his way through slower traffic. As Arenz extended his advantage in dense lapped traffic, the first of two caution flags appeared on lap 11 when Tyler Tischendorf of Waupaca and Bill Taylor of Boltonville collided along the front stretch.

On the restart, Arenz and Karnitz were separated by three lapped cars mixed in between the two front runners before the red flag appeared on the ensuing restart when 2005 MSA champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett flipped in turn two, during an incident which also resulted in damage to the cars of Tyler Davis and Beaver Dam’s Matt Rechek.

The incident also forced 2014 MSA Masters Series champion Paul Pokorski of West Bend and Jason Johnson of Campbellsport to spend time in the work area before returning to the track.

After the restart, it was all smooth sailing for Arenz, who again bolted away from Karnitz en route to his 22nd career MSA A-main victory to move into a tie for sixth on the all-time MSA victory list with Donny Goeden in just his fourth full season of 360 Sprint Car competition.

The win was also Arenz’s third consecutive MSA A-main triumph at Beaver Dam Raceway.

Karnitz placed second, five-time MSA champion and all-time MSA A-main victory leader Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee placed third, after starting eighth, Will Gerrits of Waupun moved up from his seventh starting spot to take fourth and 16th starter Tim Haddy of Waupun rounded out the top five.

Nick Daywalt of Hubertus turned in the fastest MSA qualifying lap with a time of 13.060 seconds. Daywalt was also victorious in the 15-lap MSA B main.

MSA heat race victories went to Kurt Davis, Will Gerrits, Justin Miller of Plymouth and Lance Fassbender.

The MSA is scheduled to close out the 2021 season with the second half of the Wingless Nationals doubleheader on Saturday, Oct. 2 at Beaver Dam Raceway in Beaver Dam, Wis.

Spectator gates will open at 4:30 p.m. with racing to begin at 6:30 p.m.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Beaver Dam Raceway

Beaver Dam, Wis.

October 1, 2021


1, Nick Daywalt 13.060 2, Matt Rechek 13.087 3, Tyler Tischendorf 13.163 4, Kevin Karnitz 13.225 5, Tyler Davis 13.263 6, Tim Haddy 13.283 7, Kurt Davis 13.307 8, Travis Arenz 13.314 9, Jason Johnson 13.321 10, Paul Pokorski 13.348 11, Will Gerrits 13.359 12, Justin Miller 13.733 13, Jack Vanderboom 13.379 14, Lance Fassbender 13.426 15, Bill Taylor 13.442 16, Tony Wondra 13.466 17, Scott Conger 13.520 18, Cole Possi 13.628 19, Blake Wondra 13.702 20, Mike Decker 13.723 21, Tyler Brabant 13.762 22, Tristan Koenings 13.813 23, Dylan Winkel 13.890 24, Josh Teunissen 13.919 25, Doug Pietz 14.017 26, Katelyn Krebsbach 14.076 27, Chris Larson 14.155 28, Jeremy Hunt 14.439.


1, Kurt Davis 2, Jason Johnson 3, Tyler Davis 4, Dylan Winkel 5, Paul Pokorski 6, Tyler Brabant 7, Josh Teunissen.


1, Will Gerrits 2, Bill Taylor 3, Matt Rechek 4, Tim Haddy 5, Scott Conger 6, Blake Wondra 7, Cole Possi.


1, Justin Miller 2, Jack Vanderboom 3, Tyler Tischendorf 4, Tony Wondra 5, Nick Daywalt 6, Mike Decker 7, Doug Pietz.


1, Lance Fassbender 2, Travis Arenz 3, Kevin Karnitz 4, Katelyn Krebsbach 5, Chris Larson 6, Jeremy Hunt 7, Tristan Koenings.


1, Nick Daywalt 2, Tyler Brabant 3, Scott Conger 4, Mike Decker 5, Dylan Winkel 6, Josh Teunissen 7, Cole Possi 8, Chris Larson 9, Blake Wondra 10, Jeremy Hunt 11, Doug Pietz 12, Tristan Koenings.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Kevin Karnitz 3, Kurt Davis 4, Will Gerrits 5, Tim Haddy 6, Jack Vanderboom 7, Justin Miller 8, Paul Pokorski 9, Nick Daywalt 10, Katelyn Krebsbach 11, Jason Johnson 12, Scott Conger 13, Tony Wondra 14, Tyler Brabant 15, Mike Decker 16, Josh Teunissen 17, Dylan Winkel 18, Tyler Tischendorf 19, Tyler Davis 20, Matt Rechek 21, Lance Fassbender 22, Bill Taylor.



bottom of page