top of page

Arenz powers to eighth 2022 MSA A-main triumph at Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) September 23, 2022 – Defending Midwest Sprint Car Association champion and current point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls claimed his eighth Akright Auto Midwest Sprint Car Association 360 Sprint Car A-main victory of the 2022 season, while securing a season sweep of MSA main event action at the Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway in Beaver Dam, Wis. during the Checkered Classic on Friday, Sept. 23.

The annual Checkered Classic held in honor of Fuzzy Fassbender, Rick Schmidt and Dick Witt drew 18 MSA 360 Sprint Cars to the “horsepower half mile” Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway facility for the second-to-last event of the 2022 MSA campaign.

Polesitter Tyler Brabant of Waupun jumped into the lead on the drop of the green flag of the 20-lap main event with outside front row starter Bill Taylor of Boltonville sliding into second on the opening lap.

On lap 2, Travis Arenz bolted up from his eighth starting spot to maneuver around Taylor into second in turn three before quickly setting his sights on the top spot. Two laps later, Arenz moved within striking distance of Brabant before pulling off what proved to be the winning move along the low line in turn two on lap six.

As Arenz proceeded to open up a sizable lead at the head of the pack, 2011 MSA champion Ben Schmidt of Plymouth, who started ninth, worked his way in to challenge third starter Katelyn Krebsbach of Cascade for third in the running order.

Krebsbach and Schmidt waged a heated duel for third with the second-year driver holding off the advances of the 23-year racing veteran over the ensuing five laps before the first of two yellow flags appeared on lap 13 when Tyler Davis of Franklin lost power and rolled his smoking machine to a stop in turn two. During the caution period, Brabant relinquished second place after stopping along the front stretch.

The second and final yellow flag appeared shortly after the restart when 2018 Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car champion Justin Miller of Plymouth spun in turn four.

When the race resumed, Arenz firmly established command of the race, while Schmidt dove under Krebsbach to move into second and 11th starter Chris Clayton of Waldo also slipped past Krebsbach to assume third. Five laps later, Krebsbach answered back by motoring past Clayton to reclaim third place.

Arenz pulled away from Schmidt, who is his closest pursuer in the chase for the 2022 MSA title, over the final two laps en route to his second straight MSA A-main victory at the Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway, eighth overall MSA main event triumph of the 2022 season and 30th career MSA A-main win.

“This place is certainly different from any other track we go to,” Arenz said. “Driving the 410 car here a few weeks ago helped to make me faster in the 360. I love it here. This is a great win for everyone that helps out on the team and all of my sponsors.”

Schmidt, who came into the night trailing Arenz by 17 points at the top of the MSA point standings, finished runner-up to Arenz for the second straight MSA race at the Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway.

“This race was kind of a replay of the last time we were here a few weeks ago,” Schmidt said. “Travis was one spot better than us that night too. We came into the weekend with hopes to pull out the MSA championship, but we need to figure out a way to get a little bit faster to have a shot at that.”

After contact with Bill Taylor in the early stages of the race sent the front end of her car high into the air along the high-speed back stretch, Krebsbach, the 2021 MSA rookie of the year, was overjoyed to earn an MSA career-best third place finish,

“It is a great feeling to be standing here on the front stretch with a podium finish,” Krebsbach said. “We had a bit of a tussle with Bill [Taylor] in the beginning of the race and luckily, I was able to continue on and get this great finish. The car was awesome. I’m so thankful for everyone that helps out with our team and makes all of this possible.”

Clayton finished fourth and 2005 MSA champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett placed fifth after starting seventh.

Arenz heads into the 2022 MSA season finale at The Plymouth Dirt Track in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, Sept. 24 with a 19-point lead over Ben Schmidt at the top of the point standings.

MSA heat race victories went to Tony Wondra of Campbellsport and Ben Schmidt.

In MSA group qualifying, Lance Fassbender established a new Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway 360 Sprint Car track record with a lap of 18.798 seconds around the half-time oval.

The MSA 360 Sprint Car Series is scheduled to close out the 2022 season with the Wisconsin Sprint Car Championships at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, Sept. 24 with on-track action slated to begin at 4:45 p.m.

For more information on the 2022 Midwest Sprint Car Association season, visit or check out the Midwest Sprint Car Association Facebook page.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Dodge County Fairgrounds Speedway

Beaver Dam, Wis.

September 23, 2022


1, Lance Fassbender 18.798 2, Travis Arenz 19.119 3, Katelyn Krebsbach 19.325 4, Ben Schmidt 19.499 5, Tyler Davis 19.505 6, Kurt Davis 19.548 7, Tyler Brabant 19.564 8, Tony Wondra 19.576 9, Justin Miller 19.602 10, Blake Wondra 19.604 11, Tim Haddy 19.786 12, Bill Taylor 19.883 13, Nick Daywalt 19.883 14, Justin Erickson 19.984 15, Chris Clayton 20.004 16, Chris Larson 20.219 17, Alex Pokorski 20.418 18, J.J. Pagel 20.637.


1, Tony Wondra 2, Lance Fassbender 3, Justin Miller 4, Blake Wondra 5, Bill Taylor 6, Nick Daywalt 7, Justin Erickson 8, J.J. Pagel 9, Kurt Davis (DNS)


1, Ben Schmidt 2, Travis Arenz 3, Tyler Davis 4, Katelyn Krebsbach 5, Tyler Brabant 6, Chris Clayton 7, Tim Haddy 8, Chris Larson 9, Alex Pokorski.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Ben Schmidt 3, Katelyn Krebsbach 4, Chris Clayton 5, Lance Fassbender 6, Blake Wondra 7, Tony Wondra 8, Tyler Brabant 9, Chris Larson 10, Justin Erickson 11, Justin Miller 12, Bill Taylor 13, Nick Daywalt 14, J.J. Pagel 15, Tyler Davis 16, Alex Pokorski 17, Tim Haddy, 18, Kurt Davis (DNS).



bottom of page