top of page

Arenz posts first PDTR 360 Sprint Car triumph of 2021

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) June 5, 2021 – Midwest Sprint Car Association point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan cruised to his first Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car A-main triumph of the 2021 campaign in the 25-lap main event Saturday, June 5 at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis.

In the 25-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car A main, polesitter Kevin Karnitz of West Bend grabbed the lead on the opening lap with outside front row starter Tony Wondra of Campbellsport sliding into second in the early going.

On lap 4, fourth starter Travis Arenz used the outside groove to bolt his way into second. Two laps later, Arenz shot past the low-riding Karnitz with a high move in turn four. Karnitz briefly battled back in an effort to regain the top spot. However, Arenz held off Karnitz’s surge and quickly pulled away.

On lap 14, two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh, who started 10th, moved into fourth as Arenz began to weave his way through slower traffic. On lap 21, McMullen moved into second and was quickly closing on Arenz as the race wound down.

Arenz held on to claim his fifth career PDTR 360 Sprint Car main event triumph and 14th career Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main victory in the non-stop event. McMullen placed second, 2011 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove, who started eighth, finished third, Karnitz wound up fourth and Wondra rounded out the top five.

Will Gerrits of Waupun captured the 15-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car B main.

The all-Sprint Car event, which was sponsored by JDL Automotive, drew a near capacity crowd of spectators, along with 32 PDTR 360 Sprint Cars.

During pre-race opening ceremonies, PDTR honored Dave Deicher, who raced at The Plymouth Dirt Track and other area tracks for 30 years before serving as the flagman for PDTR for many years. Deicher passed away on Sunday, May 30 at the age of 69.

PDTR action is scheduled to resume on Saturday, June 12 with action in the PDTR 360 Sprint Car, Late Model, Grand National and B Mod divisions.

Grandstand gates open at 4:30 p.m. with hot laps at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 6 p.m.

The new book “70 Years of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan and George Baumann of Waupun, covering every season of racing at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. from 1950 to 2020 will be available for purchase at every race during the 2021 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and



1, Justin Erickson 2, Matt Rechek 3, Doug Wondra 4, Tyler Brabant 5, Brandon Berth 6, Katelyn Krebsbach 7, Tom Kreutz 8, Mike Yurmanovich.


1, Chris Clayton 2, Ben Schmidt 3, Adam Miller 4, Preston Ruh 5, Tim Haddy 6, Tyler Davis 7, Jack Vanderboom 8, Josh Teunissen.


1, Tony Wondra 2, Brandon McMullen 3, Kurt Davis 4, Blake Wondra 5, Austin Hartmann 6, Chris Larson 7, Jordan Paulsen 8, Scott Conger.


1, Justin Miller 2, Travis Arenz 3, Kevin Karnitz 4, Bill Taylor 5, Alex Pokorski 6, Will Gerrits 7, Lance Fassbender 8, Dylan Winkel.


1, Will Gerrits 2, Lance Fassbender 3, Blake Wondra 4, Preston Ruh 5, Bill Taylor 6, Tyler Davis 7, Scott Conger 8, Jordan Paulsen 9, Tom Kreutz 10, Jack Vanderboom 11, Austin Hartmann 12, Katelyn Krebsbach 13, Josh Teunissen 14, Chris Larson 15, Dylan Winkel 16, Mike Yurmanovich (DNS).


1, Travis Arenz 2, Brandon McMullen 3, Ben Schmidt 4, Kevin Karnitz 5, Tony Wondra 6, Justin Miller 7, Justin Erickson 8, Matt Rechek 9, Chris Clayton 10, Kurt Davis 11, Adam Miller 12, Brandon Berth 13, Doug Wondra 14, Tyler Brabant 15, Lance Fassbender 16, Alex Pokorski 17, Will Gerrits 18, Preston Ruh 19, Bill Taylor 20, Tyler Davis 21, Tim Haddy 22, Blake Wondra.



bottom of page