top of page

Arenz earns 10th MSA triumph of 2021 season

Midwest Sprint Car Association and Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls rolled to his sixth Plymouth Dirt Track Racing 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and 10th MSA main event triumph of the 2021 campaign in the 25-lap Kristine Hartmann Pleasantview Realty 360 Sprint Car main event at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. on Saturday, Sept. 11.

Outside front row starter Brandon Berth of Cascade outdueled polesitter Bill Taylor of Boltonville to lead the opening lap of the 25-lap 360 Sprint Car A main. Berth then proceeded to build up a big lead in the early going on the lightning-fast third-mile clay oval.

As Berth worked the cushion to perfection, sixth starter Travis Arenz moved into fourth on lap four. Berth caught the rear of the field on lap 6 and proceeded to extend his lead to a full straightaway over Adam Miller of Plymouth, who started third.

On lap 11, Arenz worked around Miller to claim the runner-up spot. By lap 17, Berth continued to hold down a full-straightaway cushion over Arenz.

On lap 20, the first of three red flags appeared when two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Brandon McMullen and rookie Matt Rechek of Beaver Dam made contact in turn three, which sent Rechek flipping into the third three fence. Rechek emerged uninjured, but the contact resulted in a delay to repair the fence.

The ensuing restart saw the lapped car of Blake Wondra hit the turn two wall before Adam Miller flipped and Cole Possi of Rock, Mich. was collected in the incident.

Berth controlled the restart and led the ensuing two laps before getting out of shape in turn two on lap 22, which allowed Arenz to dive low and take over the top spot as the two drivers raced down the backstretch in close formation.

Berth attempted to move around Arenz along the outside groove in turn three. However, the two cars made contact, which sent Berth head on into the turn four wall. Despite the hard contact, Berth was uninjured in the incident. However, the contact necessitated more fence repair.

Arenz powered away from the field on the final restart and cruised over the final three laps en route to his 10th Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main victory of the 2021 season, 10th career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main win, third straight MSA victory and 21st career MSA main event triumph.

2008 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett, who started fourth, finished second, Will Gerrits of Waupun charged from the 18th starting spot to place third, 2011 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove finished fourth after starting 14th and Brandon McMullen, who started 15th, recovered from his lap 20 incident and trip to the pit area for repairs to round out the top five.

Arenz heads into the final PDTR 360 Sprint Car points race of the 2021 season on Saturday, Sept. 25 with a 22-point lead over McMullen.

The MSA is set to return to action this Saturday, Sept. 18 as part of the Chilton Fall Classic at Gravity Park Speedway in Chilton.

Racing is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m.

The new book “70 Years of Plymouth Dirt Track Racing” by Dennis Darovich of Sheboygan and George Baumann of Waupun, covering every season of racing at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. from 1950 to 2020 will be available for purchase at every race during the 2021 PDTR season, as well as at the Sheboygan County Fair office during regular business hours and online at and



1, Dylan Winkel 2, Adam Miller 3, Brandon Berth 4, Justin Miller 5, Chris Larson 6, Tristan Koenings 7, Jeremy Hunt 8, Tony Wondra 9, Kevin Karnitz.


1, Lance Fassbender 2, Travis Arenz 3, Cole Possi 4, Tim Haddy 5, Doug Wondra 6, Blake Wondra 7, Paul Pokorski 8, Justin Erickson 9, Tyler Brabant.


1, Bill Taylor 2, Preston Ruh 3, Josh Teunissen 4, Matt Rechek 5, Ben Schmidt 6, Brandon McMullen 7, Will Gerrits 8, Katelyn Krebsbach 9, Chris Clayton.


1, Blake Wondra 2, Chris Larson 3, Will Gerrits 4, Tony Wondra 5, Kevin Karnitz 6, Katelyn Krebsbach 7, Justin Erickson 8, Tyler Brabant 9, Chris Clayton 10, Jeremy Hunt 11, Paul Pokorski.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Lance Fassbender 3, Will Gerrits 4, Ben Schmidt 5, Brandon McMullen 6, Justin Miller 7, Kevin Karnitz 8, Doug Wondra 9, Josh Teunissen 10, Preston Ruh 11, Tony Wondra 12, Chris Larson 13, Katelyn Krebsbach 14, Brandon Berth 15, Tim Haddy 16, Dylan Winkel, 17, Adam Miller 18, Cole Possi 19, Matt Rechek 20, Blake Wondra 21, Bill Taylor DQ – Tristan Koenings.



bottom of page