top of page

Arenz bests Beaver Dam Raceway foes for eighth MSA triumph of 2021

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) August 28, 2021 – Akright Auto Parts of Sheboygan Falls Midwest Sprint Car Association point leader Travis Arenz of Sheboygan Falls proved to be the clear class of the field, turning in a near flawless performance on an ultra-fast and tacky track surface on the way to his eighth MSA A-main victory of the 2021 campaign in the 25-lap headliner at Beaver Dam Raceway in Beaver Dam, Wis. on Saturday, Aug. 28.

The 21st MSA 360 Sprint Car Series racing event of the 2021 season saw a strong field of 32 cars sign in for series’ third appearance of the year at the Beaver Dam Raceway high-banked third-mile clay oval.

Third-year MSA competitor Tyler Davis of Franklin outdueled outside front row starter Tyler Brabant of Waupun to grab the lead of the 25-lap main event in turn three of the opening lap.

As Davis paced the field in the early going on the lightning-fast track surface, the first of three stoppages occurred on lap 4 when a yellow flag appeared after Tim Haddy of Waupun hit in the turn four wall.

Following the restart, eighth starter Travis Arenz, who captured the victory in the MSA’s most recent appearance at Beaver Dam Raceway on May 7, swept into fourth place while Davis built up a quarter-straightaway cushion on the field. As Brabant and fourth starter Blake Wondra of Fond du Lac dueled side by side for second place, Arenz worked his way into third on lap 8.

One lap later, Brabant hit the back stretch wall and exited the track shortly after, which allowed Arenz to take over second place in the running order. Arenz quickly reeled in Davis, who was closing in the rear of the field, before using the high groove to power into the lead exiting turn four on lap 12.

On lap 13, Austin Hartmann of Sheboygan Falls collided with the front stretch wall to bring out the second caution flag of the race. On the restart, five-time MSA champion Kurt Davis of South Milwaukee, who started seventh, slipped into third on lap 14 and quickly closed the gap on his son, Tyler. Four laps later, Kurt Davis moved passed Tyler Davis to assume second.

Just as Arenz had built up a full straightaway lead over Kurt Davis, the red flag appeared on lap 19 after Tyler Davis flipped in turn four.

Arenz controlled the restart and cruised over the final six laps en route to his 19th career MSA main event victory and second straight MSA triumph at Beaver Dam Raceway.

Kurt Davis finished second, two-time MSA champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex finished third, after starting 10th, in just his second MSA start of the 2021 season, 2011 MSA champion Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove placed fourth after starting sixth and Blake Wondra rounded out the top five.

Jack Vanderboom of Dousman won the 15-lap MSA B main. MSA heat race victories went to Brandon Berth of Cascade, Travis Arenz, Bill Taylor of Boltonville and Kurt Davis.

Tim Haddy earned the MSA fast qualifier honors with a new Beaver Dam Raceway 360 Sprint Car track record lap of 12.945 seconds.

The MSA will return to action in conjunction with the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association 410 Sprint Car Series and Modifieds for the fifth annual Harry Neitzel Tribute Race on Friday, Sept. 3 at the Dodge County Fairgrounds in Beaver Dam, Wis.

Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with engine warm ups at 6 p.m. and hot laps and qualifying to follow. Opening ceremonies are slated for 7:30 p.m.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Beaver Dam Raceway

Beaver Dam, Wis.

August 28, 2021


1, Tim Haddy 12.945 2, Tyler Tischendorf 12.967 3, Adam Miller 12.974 4, Travis Arenz 13.017 5, Lance Fassbender 13.021 6, Justin Miller 13.025 7, Austin Hartmann 13.028 8, Alex Pokorski 13.057 9, Tyler Davis 13.102 10, Tony Wondra 13.104 11, Ben Schmidt 13.120 12, Jack Vanderboom 13.150 13, Kurt Davis 13.168 14, Matt Rechek 13.182 15, Danny Schlafer 13.194 16, Doug Wondra 13.214 17, Scott Conger 13.224 18, Bill Taylor 13.247 19, Justin Erickson 13.248 20, Will Gerrits 13.258 21, Brandon Berth 13.265 22, Tyler Brabant 13.318 23, Blake Wondra 13.340 24, Mike Decker 13.377 25, Cole Possi 13.409 26, Preston Ruh 13.465 27, Katelyn Krebsbach 13.524 28, Dylan Winkel 13.559 29, Alex Crimmings 13.570 30, Tristan Koenings 13.859 31, Tommy Colburn no time 32, Chance Ciskowski no time.


1, Brandon Berth 2, Ben Schmidt 3, Tyler Brabant 4, Justin Erickson 5, Dylan Winkel 6, Doug Wondra 7, Alex Crimmings 8, Preston Ruh.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Austin Hartmann 3, Justin Miller 4, Adam Miller 5, Jack Vanderboom 6, Tony Wondra 7, Scott Conger 8, Matt Rechek.


1, Bill Taylor 2, Tyler Davis 3, Blake Wondra 4, Tyler Tischendorf 5, Katelyn Krebsbach 6, Will Gerrits 7, Alex Pokorski 8, Tommy Colburn.


1, Kurt Davis 2, Danny Schlafer 3, Lance Fassbender 4, Tim Haddy 5, Cole Possi 6, Mike Decker 7, Tristan Koenings 8, Chance Ciskowski.


1, Jack Vanderboom 2, Tim Haddy 3, Justin Erickson 4, Tony Wondra 5, Cole Possi 6, Scott Conger 7, Alex Crimmings 8, Will Gerrits 9, Matt Rechek 10, Mike Decker 11, Doug Wondra 12, Preston Ruh 13, Tristan Koenings 14, Chance Ciskowski 15, Tommy Colburn 16, Alex Pokorski (DNS).


1, Travis Arenz 2, Kurt Davis 3, Danny Schlafer 4, Ben Schmidt 5, Blake Wondra 6, Tyler Tischendorf 7, Lance Fassbender 8, Justin Miller 9, Justin Erickson 10, Adam Miller 11, Jack Vanderboom 12, Tony Wondra 13, Dylan Winkel 14, Katelyn Krebsbach 15, Cole Possi 16, Tyler Davis 17, Bill Taylor 18, Scott Conger 19, Brandon Berth 20, Austin Hartmann 21, Tyler Brabant 22, Tim Haddy.



bottom of page