Arenz goes back to back with MSA at Outagamie Speedway

(PEDAL DOWN PROMOTIONS) July 12, 2019 – Travis Arenz of Sheboygan made it two-for-two in the span of seven days as he collected his second consecutive Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main victory, during the series’ first of two scheduled appearances at the Outagamie Speedway Powered By EWSC Racing in Seymour, Wis. on Friday, July 12.

Two-time MSA champion Danny Schlafer of Sussex started the 25-lap main event from the pole flanked by Franksville’s Anthony Knierim. Schlafer got the jump on the drop of the green flag to lead the opening circuit on the smooth, wide and dry slick third-mile racing surface as fourth starter Adam Miller of Plymouth settled into the second spot.

On lap 2, Arenz, who started fourth used the high groove to power around Miller and Schlafer into the lead entering turn three. Arenz, who also won the fourth MSA 10-lap heat race earlier in the program, immediately pulled away from Schlafer utilizing the high line around the track.

Meanwhile sixth starter Josh Walter of Plymouth worked the high line to pass Adam Miller for third on lap 5. However, Miller battled back around the low groove to regain the third spot two laps later. As Arenz began to encounter slower traffic on lap 7 the lone caution flag of the race was displayed on lap 8 when Anthony Knierim rolled to a stop in turn one.

On the restart, Arenz darted away from the field, while 2018 Plymouth Dirt Track Racing champion Justin Miller, who started ninth, dove underneath Josh Walter to take fourth on lap 10 and worked past his brother, Adam, for third on lap 12.

Out in front, it was all Arenz as he maintained a solid half straightaway cushion over Schlafer. However, as the laps wound down, Arenz encountered a throng of lapped traffic, which allowed Schlafer to cut the gap significantly.

On lap 23, Schlafer pulled to within striking distance as Arenz tip-toed his way through the rear of the field. On the final lap, Schlafer ducked low in turn two to briefly pull even with Arenz. However, Arenz used his momentum along the cushion to pull away down the backstretch.

The determined Schlafer again pulled nearly event with Arenz in turn four, but Arenz fended off the challenge to earn his fourth career MSA A-main victory and third MSA victory of the 2019 season by a two-car length margin over Schlafer, who had to settle for second. Adam Miller finished third, four-time MSA champ and current point leader Kurt Davis of Milwaukee worked his way up from his 10th starting spot to finish fourth and Josh Walter rounded out the top five.

The event drew 31 MSA cars to the Outagamie Speedway facility. Scott Conger of Eagle won the 12-lap MSA B main and heat race victories went to Shane Wenninger of Kewaskum, Josh Walter, 2005 MSA champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett and Travis Arenz.

During the National Anthem, MSA competitors Paul Pokorski and Scott Conger honored longtime MSA supporter Dave “Hagar” Nelson, who passed away on July 5, by carrying the black flag in his memory. It was also announced that the Dave “Hagar” Nelson Tribute Night will be held during the next MSA appearance at Outagamie Speedway Powered by EWSC Racing on Friday, Aug. 2.

The MSA competitors will return to action with a doubleheader weekend of 360 Sprint Car action on Saturday, July 20 at The Plymouth Dirt Track at the Sheboygan County Fairgrounds in Plymouth, Wis. and Sunday, July 21 at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis.

Hot laps begin at 5:30 p.m. with racing to follow at 6 p.m. at The Plymouth Dirt Track on Saturday, July 20. On Sunday, July 21 at Angell Park Speedway, hot laps will begin at 5:30 p.m. with racing to follow.

Pedal Down Promotions is a full-service public relations and media services company devoted to helping clients effectively communicate with targeted audiences through a diverse array of promotional strategies and methods, including press releases, newsletters, profile and feature articles, website and social media content development, printed media, editing and layout, graphic design and book publishing services.

For more information on Pedal Down Promotions, email, visit or call 920-323-7970.

Midwest Sprint Car Association

Outagamie Speedway Powered by EWSC Racing

Seymour, Wisconsin

July 12, 2019


1, Shane Wenninger 2, Justin Miller 3, Danny Schlafer 4, Scott Conger 5, Tyler Brabant 6, Josh Teunissen 7, Brandon Berth 8, Mike Decker.


1, Josh Walter 2, Adam Miller 3, Brandon McMullen 4, Jack Vanderboom 5, Will Gerrits 6, Al Schlafer 7, Chris Larsen 8, Preston Ruh.


1, Lance Fassbender 2, Anthony Knierim 3, Tony Wondra, 4, Tyler Tischendorf 5, Paul Pokorski 6, Bill Taylor 7, Blake Wondra 8, Ken Schmick.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Kurt Davis 3, Wayne Modjeski 4, Nich Melis 5, Tim Haddy 6, Justin Erickson 7, Tyler Nelson.


1, Scott Conger 2, Will Gerrits 3, Tim Haddy 4, Bill Taylor 5, Josh Teunissen 6, Nich Melis 7, Mike Decker 8, Justin Erickson 9, Tyler Brabant 10, Brandon Berth 11, Blake Wondra 12, Chris Larsen 13, Tyler Nelson 14, Preston Ruh 15, Ken Schmick.


1, Travis Arenz 2, Danny Schlafer 3, Adam Miller 4, Kurt Davis 5, Josh Walter 6, Justin Miller 7, Brandon McMullen 8, Bill Taylor 9, Will Gerrits 10, Paul Pokorski 11, Lance Fassbender 12, Nich Melis 13, Josh Teunissen 14, Shane Wenninger 15, Scott Conger 16, Jack Vanderboom 17, Wayne Modjeski 18, Tim Haddy 19, Tony Wondra, 20, Tyler Tischendorf 21, Al Schlafer 22, Anthony Knierim.


©2018 by MSA Sprints. Proudly created with