Kurt Davis gets first win of 2019

Kurt Davis, who started second, outpowered polesitter Wayne Modjeski to take the lead on the opening lap of the 25-lap PDTR 360 Sprint Car A main. The red flag was displayed on lap 3 when Chris Flick of Beaver Dam and two-time PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Danny Schlafer of Sussex both flipped along the frontstretch.

On the restart, 2017 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh, who started eighth, dove low to work past Modjeski into second lap 7. McMullen was closing on Davis in trapped traffic when the caution flag flew on lap 11 for the stalled car of Elkhart Lake’s Preston Ruh in turn four.

Sixth starter Travis Arenz of Sheboygan pressured McMullen briefly for second on lap 14 before McMullen pulled away and set his sights on Davis as the leaders encountered heavy lapped traffic down the stretch. McMullen tried every move in the book over the final eight laps, but the cagey veteran Davis turned them back each time.

Davis successfully fended off McMullen’s determined challenge over the final five laps to post his 21st career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and the Midwest Sprint Car Association’s leading 58th A-main triumph of his career.

McMullen placed second, Arenz finished third, 10th starter Adam Miller of Plymouth charged up to finish fourth and Ben Schmidt started and finished fifth in the debut of his new 360 Sprint Car team.


©2018 by MSA Sprints. Proudly created with Wix.com