Kevin Karnitz gets 2nd win at PDTR

The initial start of the 360 Sprint Car A main was aborted when 2017 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champ Brandon McMullen of Oshkosh bicycled his machine in turn one and rolled to a stop in turn two to bring out the first of two caution flags in the event. McMullen made suspension repairs in the work area and returned to the track at the rear of the field.

On the complete restart, polesitter Tony Wondra of Campbellsport outpowered 2008 PDTR 360 Sprint Car champion Lance Fassbender of Burnett, who started second, to seize the lead in turn four of the opening lap. Two laps later, fourth starter Jim Melis of Glenbeulah found grip in the middle of the fast and smooth racing surface to work his way into second.

On lap 6, Melis used the middle lane to gain the top spot from Wondra in turn two. By lap 10, Melis had built up a half-straightaway cushion over Wondra, while fifth starter Kevin Karnitz passed Fassbender to gain third place on lap 12.

As Melis encountered lapped traffic, Wondra was able to cut the gap significantly as the hard-charging Karnitz, who was hooked up along the inside groove, moved in to make it a three-way duel for the top spot.

Entering turn four on lap 16, the trio went three-wide for the lead with Melis riding high, Wondra using the middle groove and Karnitz working the low line. Karnitz powered under both Wondra and Melis to grab the lead in a thrilling, hold-your-breath move exiting turn four.

Two laps later, Travis Arenz of Sheboygan brought out the second and final caution flag when he stopped in turn four. After Arenz went to the work area, made repairs and returned to the track, Karnitz seized the lead on the restart, while Shane Wenninger of Kewaskum, who started third, used the high groove to maneuver around Melis into second place in turn two on lap 19.

Karnitz held on the rest of the way en route to his fourth career PDTR 360 Sprint Car A-main victory and sixth career Midwest Sprint Car Association main event triumph. Wenninger finished second, Melis placed third, sixth starter Josh Walter of Plymouth wound up fourth and Wondra completed the top five.


©2018 by MSA Sprints. Proudly created with