top of page

Danny Schlafer picks up win presented by Bank First

In the Sprint Car A main presented by Bank First, polesitter Kevin Karnitz of West Bend and outside front row starter Tim Haddy of Waupun dueled for the top spot for the first lap and a half before Haddy surged ahead along the high groove on lap 2. On lap 4, sixth starter Danny Schlafer made his presence known in a big way as he used a slide job to slip past Karnitz for second. One lap later, the hard-charging Schlafer used nearly the same slide job move to power past Haddy for the top spot. Four laps later, the two-time PDTR Sprint Car champion caught the back of the field and began to work past lapped cars. Further back, Haddy and Karnitz waged an epic battle for second before Karnitz assumed the position for good in turn two on lap 12. At the front of the field, it was all Schlafer, who continued to hold down a commanding lead. On lap 20, a caution flag appeared after a steering malfunction sent Ben Schmidt of Howards Grove head on into the turn four wall. Schmidt overcame the very hard impact to climb from his car unscathed. As safety crews tended to Schmidt’s battered machine, the rain began to fall harder to render the track wet enough to make track conditions unsafe for racing. As a result, the race was deemed complete at the 20-lap mark and the remainder of the racing program was called off. Schlafer posted his 17th career PDTR Sprint Car A-main victory to move into sole possession of second place on the all-time 360 Sprint Car A-main win list at Plymouth. It was also Schlafer’s 45th career Midwest Sprint Car Association A-main victory, which ranks him second on the all-time MSA win list. Karnitz came home second, Haddy was third, third starter Dick Kaiser was fourth and Kenjay Fiedler of Sheboygan Falls started and finished fifth.

bottom of page