top of page

Brandon McMullen collects 3 striaght Brian Portschy Memorial race

In an extended 30-lap A main, Brandon McMullen of Appleton collected his third straight Brian Portschy Memorial Race victory. Outside front row starter Al Schlafer of Sussex outpowered polesitter Robbie Pribnow of Lomira to take the lead on the opening lap of the Sprint Car A main, followed by outside second row starter Jim Melis of Glenbeulah. The first of six caution flags flew on lap 5, when Josh Teunissen of Waldo spun to a stop in turn four. On the restart, Pribnow flexed his muscle with a slide job in turn three, which vaulted him from third place into the lead. One lap later, Schlafer spun in front of the field to trigger an 8-car incident in turn two. All but one driver, Lance Fassbender of Burnett, returned to the race. Pribnow held down the top spot on the restart as Brandon McMullen, who started fifth, shot past Melis to claim the runner-up spot. McMullen quickly reeled in Pribnow before executing a perfect slide job in turn one on lap 12 to seize the lead on the highly racy track. However, McMullen’s move was negated when Howards Grove’s Ben Schmidt spun in turn two on lap 12. Pribnow remained in the lead on the restart as the scoring of the race went back to the previous lap before the caution. However, Pribnow’s car lost power on the restart to prompt the fourth caution flag of the race. With Pribnow now out of the race, McMullen inherited the lead on the restart with Melis in second. On lap 13, 2010 PDTR Sprint Car champion Kurt Davis of West Allis powered up from his ninth starting spot to pressure Melis for the runner-up spot. After the fifth caution period for the stalled car of two-time PDTR Sprint Car champ Danny Schlafer of Sussex on the backstretch on lap 15, McMullen continued to show his strength along the preferred outside groove. The sixth and final caution flag was displayed on lap 21 for an incident in turn one involving Dannon Tessmer of Slinger and Ben Schmidt. Despite a damaged front wing which affected the handling of his car, Davis mounted a late charge following the final restart to bolt past Melis into second and challenge McMullen for the lead with a low move on lap 23. However, McMullen fended off Davis’ advances and pulled away over the final five laps to notch his first victory of the 2017, ninth PDTR Sprint Car win and 13th overall Midwest Sprint Car Association triumph of his career. Davis had to settle for second, Melis was third, 12th starter Paul Pokorski of West Bend raced up to an impressive fourth-place finish after restarting 19th following the lap 6 melee and Kenjay Fiedler of Sheboygan Falls finished fifth after starting ninth.

bottom of page